only children know what they are looking for


The one who waits for something good, never waits for too long…
March 11, 2010, 12:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

is what I told my friend Andrea today.

I was going to fly to Cape Town on Tuesday. Andrea was flying to Cape Town on a killer flight of over 40 hours because she wanted to meet up with me at the airport. Her other option would have been a lot shorter!

On Monday I was giving my presentation on my thesis. It went well but I was wondering, why I was sweating so much. I met up with a friend and had lunch, did some last minute shopping for my trip and went home to pack. While packing and completing some last school stuff, I started feeling so nauseous. I figured I was just hungry and had a glass of juice. Maya and I had some friends coming over to watch the Oscar gala and eat some ice cream. All went well and we had a good time and I went to bed. After a couple of hours of sleep, I woke up shivering with a fever and a stomach flu. I was up most of the night and in the morning when I was supposed to finish my packing, I was so weak there was no way I could do that, not even mentioning getting to the airport or flying.

Thankfully my dad called lastminute.com and cancelled my cheap flight and I went to the doctor to get my certificate of being sick… so I could get refunds for my flights. I almost fainted walking the two blocks to get there. At that moment I felt so grateful to live in Finland where the doctor is so close, where the store is a minute from my house, where my apartment is extremely heated, where I have a water toilet inside my apartment and even water to drink comes from the pipes. I was imagining being this sick in a mud hut. I guess some days you just get a perspective.

I felt bad for knowing Andrea was on her way to South Africa alone and expecting me to meet her at the airport. I had no other way of getting in touch with her than e.mail so I was hoping she would check her mail on her long flight.Luckily she did. So all is good and now I even have new tickets booked for tomorrow thanks to my mum!

Us people, we are so good at freaking out when something doesn’t go the way we planned. Tuesday morning when I realized I was too sick to travel, I cried and thought I had waisted all that money on flights. But is there anything really, that hasn’t turned out just fine in the end?

Other people that help us really are worth a  million bucks. I think of my teacher for an example who was the examiner for my thesis. He did things he really didn’t have to do, organized my presentation on a special occasion so that I could go to Africa and when I thanked him, his reply was: “well, I am just glad we didn’t have to travel all the way to Africa to hear your presentation!” People that do things for other people without expecting anything in return inspire me.

So I am on my way to Cape Town tomorrow which makes me really excited! Sunshine, adventures and good times I hope.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

bra Ina! Jag ska följa dig på vägen! Ha enbra resa! Kram! Tout cétait bien!

Comment by sofia

Rom 8:28 😀

Må din väg gå dig till mötes!
May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Comment by Rebecka

Jag å vill 😀

Du är en lyckost min vän.
Allt gott & I know this trip will be awesome for you. kram kram

Comment by Tascha

Oj, vilken otur och sen vacker lösning på allt. Tänk vad resor sätter allt i rörelse så varje förändring känns o påverkar mer än vanligt, man känner att man lever. Hejar på er!

Comment by Ida




Leave a Reply

